First deck construction: 5 mana spells

Second day, I’m planning to go to the Friday night Magic tonight. The few last times I went, I beated most of my opponents with a human splicer WG deck. The splicer part consist of a full set of  Blade splicers and Master splicers, along with two copies of Vital splicers. The human side holds 4 of Avacyn’s pilgrim and Mayor of Avabruck along with the copies I had of Mentor of the meek, Hamlet captain and Champion of the parish. The deck is rounded out with Elesh norn, Mimic vat and some Oblivion rings. This deck has a blighting start, and continue to gain power by popping 3/3 golems. It’s not rare to attack with both the golem and the splicers because they are often just as big. But for today I wanted to change strategy, and here I am before my collection of cards.

I built many deck for Modern format, but none of which was good enough to bring tonight. There was a jund sacrifice deck, a WR mass token production deck, a WU ‘’annoying’’ deck, a UG Spider spawning deck and a WB exile deck, but it wasn’t enough. Probably I’ll build a deck at the last minute and it will be awful.

Right now I’m trying a ‘’5 mana cost’’ deck. It’s something I built once, when Alara came out, when I wanted to prove that the obelisks were playable. The goal is to go from 3 mana to 5 by playing an obelisk and maximizing my mana by using the obelisk to play a one mana spell the turn it comes on the battlefield. The curve of the deck is highly important, although it will never be really powerful. The top decks prefer to go from 2, to 4, to 6 Titan ramp, but this isn’t for a pro tour. So let’s go for the good bad deck!

Manalith is the new obelisk, but unfortunately, I have only one, so I’ll do with real obelisks. Lightning bolt is one of the top quality one mana cards in modern, and Burst lightning doubles out as a five mana spell for our curve. I know I’m playing red, so no esper or bant color distribution. For the five mana slots, I’d like to put some Muldrifters as I love this card. We’re going on a control streak and this creature is just pure card advantage. So grixis we go. Raven’s crime can help dump all our lands past the fifth one, as can Flame jab. Because we aim to play one spell per turn, Gitaxian Probe will help us chose the best answer to our opponent’s threats and Silent departure can gain us the little time we need to play the big spells. For the top end of the curve, Mind control, Beguiler of will, Consume the meek, Curse of death blood, maybe a Falkenrath marauders and a Fiend of the shadows as wining condition, oh and at least a copy of Incremental blight (personal favorite) and Shriekmaw. Spellbound dragon is also neat, but I think I’ll stay with the two earlier bombs. Normally, the deck would play with 7 or 8 obelisks, so I’ll just find replacement for them. As for the lands, Vivid and Reflecting pool is great, so is fetch land and dual land, or just about anything you happen to have. Round out with some two mana spells and card draw, like Telling time.

So that’s it. Tomorrow, I’ll tell you how it went.

Leave a comment