5 mana spells deck review

As I thought, I loss. The deck was to slow to race against Honor of the pure or Lingering souls and Swords. Other control decks add an easy time dealing with its one spell per turn, and I couldn’t do anything against non-creature combo. So that’s its downside, now let’s boost it.

For now, we got turn four five mana spells, but there is lots of ways to get turn three five mana with only one card: Lotus cobra, Harabaz druid, Bloom tender, Smokebraider, Veldaken engineer, Joraga treespeaker,  Devoted druid or Skyshroud ranger. Each one creates a new kind of deck, so I won’t go into the details.

Then, there’s the problem of Lingering souls, THE card right now that is almost everywhere. I found a forgotten card in my collection, one that deserves more attention right now with all those 1/1 fliers around: Scatter shot archer. Against Caw-blade, this little dude will draw allot of attention from your opponent. Save him from Tragic slip, lightning bolt and the likes, it’s worth it.

Against combo and Honor of the pure, Ray of revelation is the new Ancient grudge. This means we need a color shift from grixis to bant, but we were going there anyway for the mana boost and our little archer. Spell pierce is also great against combo and keeps your things alive against removal.

Lastly, Titans. The most played titans are in order: Primeval titan, Grave titan, Inferno titan, and the other two in no particular order. Mind control, is good, but easily disturbed. We would use Tragic slip or Go for the throat if we were in black, but in white we still have Path to exile and Bant charm, or Pacifism in a last resort. Also, a few planewalkers would be welcome.

With all this, I believe I’ll be able to stand my ground next time at a FNM.

Leave a comment